The Day

A piece by Mind of Amaka

“Close your eyes, and let us take a few prayer points.” Said the pastor, his voice booming across the large auditorium, carried by the microphone which he clutched tightly. He wore a navy blue suit, looking dapper from top to bottom. On his shiny forehead were beads of perspiration, formed after more than 45 minutes of energetic preaching. His eyes scanned the crowd, a look of fire in them.

The 10,000-capacity church was filled to the brim, and slowly the variety of bodies began to move. Some sat down and rested their heads on their laps, some knelt down with hands clasped, others stood and shut their eyes tightly, some even had clenched fists.

They were about to pray with all their might. The service had been a good one so far, and the message had been about prosperity, a welcome message in the times of financial hardship. They were ready to blast their enemies, who were to blame for the stagnancy in their lives. I was one of them. I had a list of pressing matters, and was ready to pray my way to a solution. I tried to narrow down my thoughts to just one thing, tried to bring back my wondering mind into the church.

The first point was raised, and immediately the silence that had settled like a velvety blanket was thrown off. Thousands of voices came together, shouting with fierceness. We all wanted breakthrough, we all wanted to be reformed. I clapped my hands, praying with all my might. I got tired eventually while the noise continued around me, and my eyes opened to observe what was going on around me.

They roamed about the church, looking at the many faces and moving mouths. They settled on a particular old woman who was swinging her arms, praying with passion. She was holding the hands of a girl I assumed to be her daughter. I was fixated, and I wished I could pray with such ferocity. The truth was, I had gone cold a long time ago. I was only filled with bursts of passion whenever messages of prosperity came, but the cold would envelop me again as soon as I stepped through those doors.

 

And then, it happened.

 

“In Jesus Name!” came the voice of the pastor just as I saw the woman disappear, her clothes falling to the ground. The girl she had been holding turned with shock and let out a shrill cry. Heads turned left and right as more shouts began to ring across the large auditorium.

 

“He’s disappeared! She’s gone! Where is my son?” Came shouts from left and right. The church burst into murmurs and there was a franticness. I stared at the altar where the pastor stood, his eyes wide open like a deer caught in the headlights.

 

And then, chaos.

 

People began to grab their phones frantically, people began to scream out and cry in horror. Then came the running, then came the jostling. Everyone began to run to the exit doors in panic, ignoring the voice of the pastor who was trying to calm people down.

 

I sank into my chair, the world suddenly feeling like it had crashed around me.

I had been left behind.

We had been left behind.


I keep picturing a scenario where in a whole church congregation, only a bare minimum would be raptured. It would be the saddest occurrence if this was to become a reality. I don’t want to be left behind, and yet I see myself indulging in things that will ruin my chances.

We all must be more careful than ever, as sin is not just in actions but also in thoughts. Guard your mind, watch your actions. Rapture can happen at any given time, and some may not even know when it occurs, because nobody around them would disappear. It’s crazy that while we’re caught up in activities of life, we can end up forgetting that Jesus is coming. Always keep it at the back of your mind.

If the rapture was to occur now, would you make it?

Lord, give us the grace to abstain from anything that would hinder us from making heaven.

cropped-cropped-mind-of-amaka.jpg

16 thoughts on “The Day

Leave a comment